“I Don’t Feel Like It” Means I MUST.

“I Don’t Feel like It” Is A Signal To Move

How I quiet the chatter between my ears

Shelley Moore
4 min readOct 17, 2022

--

Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

Many days I feel bright, connected, and full of life.

Today is NOT one of those days.

I lay beneath the bedsheets and feel the heaviness of the world. The loss, despair, fear, hurt, frustration. “I don’t feel like” emerging from my cocoon.

I want to pretend things are different but that will not change anything. This has happened before and I know what I have to do.

The fastest way for me to change my thinking is to change my physiology. For me that means getting outside in nature and move. Nature helps ground me and the movement gets my endorphins flowing. I always leave feeling better.

It helps give me perspective of the situation and become aware of the voice. I call this voice “Tiny” although sometimes she feels anything but Tiny. She limits me, thrives on my fear and frustration.

I am stalling.

I don’t feel like going outside, but I have to.

After hitting snooze on my alarm three times, I decide no more.

--

--

Shelley Moore

Nutrition Nerd 🥑 Lifelong Learner 📚 Unschooler 🌱 Outdoor Enthusiast 🏞 Grateful Mama 👶🏻 World Traveler 🌍 Connector 🔗 — Join me! 💛🙏🏼✨☀️!